Board of Education

The Board of Education is a policy-recommending body to the pastor as superintendent of the school. It is responsible for governance oversight of all aspects of the School. Its responsibilities include:

  • Long range planning for the school and overseeing the plan’s implementation,
  • Recommending and drafting policy to the pastor under which the administrator operates the school and seeing that approved policies are implemented,
  • Serving as a body of consultation for the pastor and principal in major decisions of administration,
  • Annually evaluating the administrators,
  • Recommending an annual budget to the Parish Finance Council and seeing that it is adhered to,
  • Fostering better understanding and support for Catholic education in the parish community.



President: Matt Maczka
Vice President: Erin Schmucker 
Secretary: Christi Blum
Curriculum Committee Chair: Jenni Little
Development and Outreach Chair: Betsy Edgerton
Executive Committee Chair: John Schuring
Finance Chair: Matt Maczka
Mission Effectiveness Chair: Jessica Poelma
Policy and Planning Chair: Christi Blum
Building and Grounds Chair: Tracy Bandlow
Education Foundation: Judi Serba
Boosters President: Amy Bocian
At large Members: Jo Jones, Bryan Rellinger, George Sharpe, James Leonard, Erin Schmuker, Chuck Rushmore, Stacy Slomski
Ex-officio Members: Principal Suzi Furtwangler, and Home & School President Amy Ziemer


If you have questions or concerns for the Saint Thomas Board of Education, please email  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.