The Board of Education is a policy-recommending body to the pastor as superintendent of the school. It is responsible for governance oversight of all aspects of the School. Board responsibilities include:

  • Long-range planning for the school and overseeing the plan’s implementation,
  • Recommending and drafting policy to the pastor under which the administrator operates the school and seeing that approved policies are implemented,
  • Serving as a body of consultation for the pastor and principal in major decisions of administration,
  • Annually evaluating the administrators,
  • Recommending an annual budget to the Parish Finance Council and seeing that it is adhered to,
  • Fostering better understanding and support for Catholic education in the parish community.


  • Board Chair: Brian Hillary
  • Board Vice-Chair: Elissa Williams
  • Board Secretary: Derek Damstra

Committee Chairs

  • Building and Grounds: Josh Szymanski
  • Executive Committee: Brian Hillary
  • Finance and Fiscal Development: TBD
  • Marketing: David Shankin
  • Mission Effectiveness: James Wilson
  • Policy and Planning: Molly Kennedy
  • At large members: Dr. Michelle Anderson, Bill Fetterhoff, Jamie McCabe, Mary Vonk
  • Ex-officio Members: Pastor, Father Jim Chelich, Principal Ryan Corcoran, Director of Development and Outreach Betsy Edgerton, Education Foundation President Matt Maczka, and Home and School President Genevieve Boyle

If you have questions or concerns for the Saint Thomas Board of Education, please email

Board of Education Minutes
Board of Education Bylaws
Don't delay! Register today!